Toggle menu
Toggle preferences menu
Toggle personal menu
Not logged in
Your IP address will be publicly visible if you make any edits.

Minecraft:Permission level

From SAS Gaming Wiki
File:Ore UI - Game Menu - Player Permissions (Other Player) Screen Menu (Bedrock).png
The Player permissions menu in Bedrock Edition

The permission level is used to describe the permissions a Minecraft:player or a command executor has in a Minecraft:world or Minecraft:server. For example, Template:In, Template:Cmd can't be executed in a command block, because this command requires the executor to have a permission level of 3, while command blocks have a permission level of only 2.

Player permissionsTemplate:Only are a set of rules that dictate what players can and cannot do in a Minecraft:multiplayer world, such as building or attacking players.

Description

Levels are incremental, meaning level n allows anything that any level less than n allows.

Java Edition

Template:IN, the capabilities granted by level permission are only usable if the player has an Minecraft:operator status granted with Template:Cmd. Server administrators can set permission levels by editing the ops.json file.

The permission levels may allow players to configure certain game settings:

Level 0 – Operator

Level 1 – Moderator

Level 2 – Gamemaster

Level 3 – Admin

  • Commands related to multiplayer management are available.

Level 4 – Owner

  • All commands are available, including commands related to server management.

Bedrock Edition

Template:IN, permission levels mostly dictate which commands a Minecraft:player may use. In different levels, certain commands are available, and a level inherits commands from levels less than it.

Using the Template:Cmd command, enabling the "Operator Commands" setting in the Minecraft:player permissions, or setting a player's permissions to "Operator",Template:Note a player can be granted Operator status.

  • On external servers and Minecraft:Realms, this sets the level to 1.
  • On a joined multiplayer game (LAN or online), this sets the level to 2.
  • On a locally hosted game, this sets the level to 3.

Using the Template:Cmd command, disabling the "Operator Commands" setting in the player permissions, or setting a player's permissions to "Member", a player can be revoked Operator status and always has a permission level of 0.

By default, the world host has permission level 3 (1 for Realm owners) and all joined players have permission level 0. Setting any other player to Operator permanently disables Minecraft:achievements for the world.

Note that certain commands might still be locked if cheats are disabled, which can be toggled in the game settings. The permission levels and their available commands are:Template:Note

Level 0 – Any / Normal

All commands available to non-privileged players:

Level 1 – Game Directors / Operator

Mostly commands that affect gameplay and entities: Template:Collapse

Level 2 – Admin / Host

Game administrator commands:

Level 3 – Host / Automation

Game host commands:

Level 4 – Owner / Admin

Server administrator commands:

Template:Notelist

Player permissions

Template:Exclusive Template:Expand section

File:Bedrock Player Permissions screen old UI (Realms).png
The Player Permissions screen on Realms without specific permission options

Player permissions dictate what a player can and cannot do in a world.

  • Any player with operator permissions plus the world host or Realm owner can configure player permissions per player (including themselves) on a separate screen accessible in the Minecraft:social drawer in the Minecraft:game menu.
    • On servers, this can also be done in Minecraft:permissions.json. Permissions can be reloaded or listed with Template:Cmd.
    • The Realm owner can never have their permissions changed and is always operator.
  • Realm administrators can change permissions per member in the "Manage Members" screen, or on the Minecraft:minecraft.net Realm settings, even if they are not online.

There are four roles which can set specific permissions for players:

  • Operator, which enables all permissions, including operator commands, world settings, teleportation, and all of member permissions.
  • Member, which enables mining, building, and interaction with the world.
  • Visitor, which only lets players view or observe the world only, with none of the permissions enabled. Visitors can still interact with Minecraft:entities, such as Minecraft:trading with villagers, and use/manage Minecraft:items in their inventory or picked up.
  • Custom, which enables specific permissions set by operators. On Realms, this is not available and only the three preset roles are available. The following permissions can be applied:


Permission Description Enabled for
Build Allows the player to place Minecraft:blocks and Minecraft:entities in the world. This also allows players to interact with most blocks, such as Minecraft:beds, Minecraft:bells, Minecraft:signs, and Minecraft:item frames, but not Minecraft:shelves and blocks that open an inventory. Member
Mine Allows the player to break blocks in the world. Member
Use doors and switches Allows the player to use Minecraft:doors, Minecraft:levers, and Minecraft:buttons. Member
Open containers Allows the player to interact with blocks and entities using an inventory GUI, such as Minecraft:chests, Minecraft:crafting tables, and mount inventories. Member
Attack Players Allows the player to deal damage to Minecraft:players. Member
Attack Mobs Allows the player to deal damage to all Minecraft:entities other than players. Member
Operator Commands This enables Operator permissions for the player. Depending on whether this is a hosted world, joined world, or joined server, the permission level is increased, allowing usage of operator commands and changing permissions. See above for details. Operator
Teleport Allows the player to use the Template:Cmd command. Operator

Changes are saved only after leaving the menu. Regardless of their own permissions, players can always view all permissions from themselves and other players.

File:Ore UI - Pause Menu - Player Permissions (Other Player) Screen - Kick Player Button Pop-Ups (Bedrock).png
Kick player warning

Below all permissions, operators and world hosts have the option to kick a player from the world, similar to Template:Cmd. Realm administrators also have the option to ban another member from the Realm.

Situations

Java Edition

Bedrock Edition

  • For a function:
  • For a player:
    • In a dedicated server or Realm, if the player is Operator, the permission level is 1 (default for Realm owners).
    • In a joined local world, if the player is Operator, the permission level is 2.
    • In a hosted local world, if the player is Operator (default), the permission level is 3.
    • Otherwise, the player's permission level is 0.
  • For other command executors, see Minecraft:command context for details.

History

Template:Expand section Template:Incomplete section

Java Edition

Template:HistoryTable

Bedrock Edition

Template:HistoryTable

Issues

Template:Issue list

Gallery

Minecraft Education

See also

References

<references />

Navigation

Template:Navbox commands

Minecraft:ja:権限レベル Minecraft:pt:Nível de permissão Minecraft:ru:Уровень доступа Minecraft:uk:Рівень дозволу Minecraft:zh:权限等级